2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives. is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and. following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of the Government, although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time, while other members may be without portfolio.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and the dates of their tenures of office, together with the members of the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth Ministries, as on June 28, 1926, Aug. 31, 1926, and Oct. 15, 1926, are given in Table 2.

2.-Ministries since Confederation.

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653.

1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873.

- Kt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Fremier. From July 1, 1867 to D Nov. 6, 1873.
 Hon. Alexander Mackensie, Premier. From Nov. 7, 1873 to Oct. 16, 1878.
 Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From Oct. 17, 1878 to June 6, 1891.
 Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Premier. From June 16, 1891 to Dec. 5, 1892.
 Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Premier. From Dec. 5, 1892 to Dec. 12, 1894.
 Hon Sir Mackensie Bowell, Premier. From Dec. 21, 1894 to April 27, 1896.
 Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Premier. From May 1, 1896 to Oct. 6, 1911.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier. From July 11, 1896 to Oct. 6, 1911.
 Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Conservative Administration.) From Oct. 10, 1911 to Oct. 12, 1012.
- Rt. Hoa. Sir Robert D. Borden, Fremier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917.
 Rt. Hoa. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917 to July 10, 1920.
 Rt. Hoa. Arthur Meighen, Premier. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party.") From July 10, 1920 to Dec. 29, 1921.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Dec. 29, 1921 to June 28, 1926.
 Rt. Hoa. Arthur Meighen, Premier. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
 Rt. Hoa. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Sept. 25, 1926.

TWELFTH DOMINION MINISTRY.1

(According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet).

-Resignations of Ministers have been noted only in cases in which the office vacated has not been filled by subsequent appointment. Official dates of resignations are not available.

Office.	Occupant,	Date of Appointment,
Prime Minister, Secretary of State for External Affairs, President of the Privy Council. Minister of Finance.	King	Dec. 29, 1921
Minister of National Defence	Hon. James A. Robb	Sept. 5, 1925 Dec. 29, 1921 April 28, 1923
Postmaster-General Minister without Portfolio Minister of Soldiers' Civil Re-Establishment and the	Hon, Raoul Dandurand	Dec. 29, 1921
Minister in charge of and to administer the De- partment of Health	Hon. Henri S. Béland Hon. John C. Elliott	
Minister of Public Works	Hon, Hewitt Bostock	Dec. 29, 1921
Minister of Justice and Attorney-General	Hon. James H. King Hon. Sir Lomer Gorin	Dec. 29, 1921
Minister of Customs and Excise	Hon. Ernest Lapointe	Dec. 29, 1921

¹ Hon. Lucien Cannon was appointed Solicitor-General on Sept. 5, 1925, but was not a member of the Cabinet. Acting Minister.